With all of my running and all of my cunning

If I couldn’t laugh I just would go insane

I’m writing because I have to.  

Now that I got that out of the way. I will start with some positives.  Vervain is blooming.  I am happy about this because it means I will have more tincture.  I need more vervain tincture.  So this is a good thing.  Also the wild bergamot is blooming, again tincture, honey, oil.  All good things.  There are good things in the world.  

The garden is going alright, we are starting to get tomatoes.  Not looking forward to canning, but looking forward to having canned tomatoes.  Now that it isn’t so hot the girls and I are back to weeding in the morning. It is sorely needed.  We are thankful also to have gotten some rain.  That was sorely needed also.  It is weird to be cold in July, but I am dealing.  While it is cold at night and in the morning, it is nice to be comfortable working.  

Other projects are slowly getting done.  Though nothing has gotten crossed off the list.  And this is part of my issue right now.  I will call it humorous.  Yes, because if you don’t laugh you go insane.  It seems to happen each season.  The beginning of the season starts, and there is SO MUCH to do.  But you slowly go around doing what you can, staying sane and things are going, they are working… and then BAMM!!!  It is the middle of the season, starting towards the end and there is so fricken much to do and it needs done NOW! No, YESTERDAY!!!  Really, if we are being honest three years ago.  And the possibility of it getting done three years ago, well, can someone send me a time machine?  That is when I put my hands over my face and try not to think too hard. 

Anyway, there is a trench started around the house, drain tile going in.  Gray water pipe happening.  Cistern started.  Mudroom getting slowly worked on.  The barn getting ready for concrete.  Fence being thought of, gutters that need to happen eventually to fill the cistern.  A wood shed so we can stay warm this winter.  A buckyard finished for the boys.  A different housing situation for the poultry.  

In other words, if twenty some people showed up, twenty people with strong backs that wanted to work hard for a month and had a couple thousand dollars on them each, we might get done all that we want to get done before the first frost.  And we have to be okay with maybe some of this not getting done.  We aren’t there yet.  In fact I would say that in the past couple of days we are just getting to the point where we realize that this isn’t going to all happen.  The start of the crisis of mid summer.  Yay!(that was intensely sarcastic for those of you who do not know)

So, what do we do? Oh we are working as hard as we can.  And it will have to be good enough.  A farms work is never done.  It isn’t easy.  It is at times(this is one of them) intensely disappointing.  And that is all I am going for this week because that is all I can handle to write about.  Yeah, that was all the not so bad stuff.  

If you are a positive thought sender, a prayer, or what have you, we would appreciate some of it.  Sorry that this weeks entry is short, but I really don’t feel up to writing about the crazy.  I am trying to stay positive.  When something positive happens maybe I can write more.  Until then, stay cool and enjoy your summer as best you can 🙂

Leave a Reply

