Halloween SAVED!!!

Well, Halloween was saved. I thought and thought about what we could do with what we had. I have fallen back on the gypsy costumes before, it is pretty easy when you have the clothes to do this. I asked the girls if this sounded alright and they reluctantly agreed. Until they saw how the costumes were and then they were excited. It was great. However, we also take this time to be very serious and I turn their costumes into a homeschool lesson. For the past few years the girls have chosen some sort of goddess. So it went into a lesson about different religions and well it was interesting. This time I was wondering how much we could learn about gypsies. I was surprised. Really surprised. I am not one to tell you all what to do, but if you are curious go look up gypsies, learn a little bit, you might be surprised, as we were, about how hard the gypsies have had it for an insanely long time. After reading about it, I didn’t really want to dress up like gypsies. I really didn’t. I tried to tell the girls why. I asked them how they felt when people dressed up like witches, all green and ugly and mean. They said that they knew who they were and they didn’t need to educate others on how witches really were. If that is what they wanted to believe, well too bad for them. It was one of those moments of hmmm, my children made a decent point. As it was, it was too late to go back on what we were going to be. So we went to town, with Megan our goat, dressed as gypsies. This year, as opposed to last when the girls dressed up as Celtic goddesses, people actually knew what we were!! It was amazing. Everyone loved Megan and thought it was an amazing idea. It was really really great. We then came home did our night chores and then went onto Dancing Rabbit and their Hollerween fiasco. It was a lot of fun. All in all one of the better halloweens we have had in awhile.

Onto cabin news. We had a very bad cabin day over the weekend. We were going to move the bedsteads into the cabin so we could stand on them to put up the ceiling. I tried to pick it up and found that those things are really really heavy. Luckily, Joan was home and helped Jack get them up there. So the bedsteads got up there and then we went onto nailing the boards up. Jack realized that he was out of nails. So he calls over to DR and sees if they have any for sale. They do. Great!! So he goes on over and gets them. Gets back and we nail up a few but the gun is having issues. Hmmm, the nails are not the right kind for the gun he has. Hmmm. So he calls back asking if he can use the gun. Goes over and gets it. Comes back. Get it all hooked up and connected. We get three nails in a board before the air compressor dies. Yep, it broke. Can you believe it? Uggg!!! It was just one of those days. So we started on putting up more of the kitchen shelves and a bench for by the door. So we are still camping on the floor of the cabin. It isn’t great. but we are getting there. Also, Tuesday we went into Memphis to do some chores and we got back only to see that while we were in town the store had called us to let us know that our stove pipe was in! Aggg! So Jack got back in the truck and went back into town and got the stove pipe. He started getting it all ready. Yesterday we had our first fire! Yea! For Warmth!!! He is getting a fire going right now as I type too. It is really nice to be able to be warm. Little things that are easy to take for granted, you know?

As for animals, well, we haven’t seen the mink out anymore, but we did have a dead chicken. Not sure what got it, but it was dead. We have also had more issues with our animals getting out of the fence. We moved them and usually this helps. It didn’t this time. We couldn’t figure it out. We really were about to go crazy. Then once Jack went down there to get them back in and saw that no one had hooked up the fence. Seriously. So that is why the animals kept walking through it like it was nothing. It really was nothing. So our break outs have gone down a whole lot. We did have someone out yesterday and they dug some holes for us to put our real fence. So that is going along also. Kind of crazy, and maybe just a little late. I am looking forward to when moving animals will be opening a gate instead of the hour long moving that it is now. Again, little things. Life is full of little things right now. I am not sure if I would have it any other way though.

And Luna. Because what post would be complete without mentioning Luna? Well, no baby. Now, we had something interesting happen. She went into heat. I tried searching and couldn’t find anything so I posted on a goat forum I go to. Sometimes a goat can go into heat while pregnant. Or she could have had a false pregnancy. Which may mean that she has hormone issues. Who knows? We probably won’t until either a baby pops out or not. Astrid, I did post that Astrid and Billy got together, right? Well, in a few days if we don’t see her go into heat, or really even if we do, because that first heat after getting pregnant can still happen. Yet, we have reason to believe that maybe possibly it took on the first try. Her milk has decreased by more than half this past week. Now, she is also getting on into her tenth month of lactation. So that could be part of it also. We are trying to be positive though.

So, we have gotten a bit done in the cabin, animals are doing well, if confusing. Halloween was saved. Things as always are crazy, but I would start to worry if it wasn’t. I am used to crazy. I am not so used to things just working out, you know? Hopefully, things work out better and we are moved upstairs! That is my goal for this next week. Oh and one last thing. I don’t like the cold weather so much. However, I do feel like my life is going way too fast lately. I am tired of wishing for warm weather. I am not moving back to Hawai’i as much as I would like to. So, I need to just start looking for the great in all my days. Something that I realized a few nights ago is that, oh my goodness, it is nice to curl up in bed at night and cuddle. It is nice to wake up in the morning, okay it isn’t really because it is really cold. However, it is nice to be freezing your butt off and to be holding a nice hot mug of well tea or hot chocolate. These are little thing, and haven’t I said that the little things make all the difference, that have warmed me when I have been freezing. I hope you are finding some warm happy thoughts where you are right now ❤

Leave a Reply

