freeze and in case you were stuck in the sleeping bag, a few more just so you get the idea…

Oh, it is fall, with winter closing in. We have woken up three times the past week with temperatures around 28 degrees. That is cold when you get out of the sleeping bag in case you didn’t know. We also don’t have the option for staying IN the sleeping bag. We have to milk, take care of animals and then we start school. Okay, there is usually a warm mug of hot chocolate in our hands, but that is not a luxury, it is necessity since we need to be able to feel our hands to write. A long time ago Jack had picked up a propane heater and we are currently using that since we still don’t have our stove pipe in. It should be here sometime next week. Which will be nice. It takes a pretty long time for the little propane heater to heat up the cabin. Plus, well, it is expensive to use. Thankfully though we have the cabin to go to. This past week has seen a lot of windy days. Days that would be miserable in the tent. Nights aren’t that much fun but we are dealing.

This past week has been interesting. A lot has happened. Luna for a few days and nights was yelling at something. Who knows what, she has since stopped. I was hopeful that it meant there was a baby coming out of her, her baby was moving a lot. Maybe it was moving into a better position and she was screaming about that. I remember that point in pregnancy, like kid, stop moving, I like my organs where they are. She has been goopy but still no baby. I do feel like it is close now though. We trimmed the ducks wings and put them in with Astrid and Luna. They are enjoying it, though I think they are kind of freaked out over the big things that are in with them. Our plans are hoping for them to be with the stock since muscovies love flies so much. However, we are thinking we will have to get the pigs out before that happens.

Conner and Bridget have been defending their food a lot from the pigs. It is also insane to see how often we have to move these guys. I am so proud of them all though. By the way it doesn’t take much to make me proud, you know, eat, poop, laze about, come up and let me pet you. These things make me happy. Just so you know.

In the cabin we did get one quarter of the walls up there paneled. Most of the interior walls are up also. I have been yelling at the girls to use the doors and not walk through walls. After being so long without walls well it is just weird. Also, even though it was not a barn they lived in, it was a tent, they are still having issues remembering to shut the door into the cabin. Seriously. They seem to remember when they are freezing, sometimes, but I still have to remind them often that we don’t live in a tent and they have to shut the door. Ahhh, if only it were still summer and we still lived in a tent. I admit to liking not having a door. Which seems odd to me since well, I thought I liked doors before. Oh well. The cabin is coming a long, slowly since well, Jack has been working a lot. Things get in the way. It is happening slowly.

Thankfully last Friday we were able to get to the storage unit and pick up our winter clothes. We had some in the tent with us, but not enough. We went through all the girls clothes, passed them on down and saw what we have for them all still. Natalie is still doing well on clothes, I am slightly surprised. She has grown a lot but we have been able to pick things up when we saw them and she is pretty well supplied for the coming winter. The other two I had no worries for. Gwendy has an insane amount of clothing. Okay, maybe not insane, but it is about twice as much as the other two. I will be glad when they have a closet. I, however, was glad to get into my insulated overalls again. I am wearing them now, with two sweaters. Of course it would help if I had socks on, but then, oh well. We are at about 54 degrees in here now. It is getting warmer. I have to admit to being glad that it will be getting warmer the next few days. Once we are ready for the cold it can happen. By the way, that isn’t going to happen until well, never 🙂 But it will happen. I will be alright with it happening after everything is done.

Other goings on this past week. Dancing Rabbit celebrated their 15th anniversary this past week. They has a huge reunion. While we have only been here for a bit over a year, it was neat to see some of the people who were here last year come back. There were potlucks, an auction, a no talent show, a ground breaking ceremony for the new common house a lot more things that we didn’t get to go to because we were working. I was very happy to hear the Fermentation Song again at the talent show. We are hoping that a version gets online eventually so I can share it with you all. It is amazing. For those of you who hold fermentation near and dear to your hearts, you will also find it amazing. It amazes me sometimes how lucky we are to be living where we do. With these wonderful, talented people. It really is amazing and we really are so lucky.

Right now, Natalie is doing farmers market math with Gwendy. Not only is she getting a lesson in simple math, she is also learning business. Natalie just told her that the farmer made a special harvest bread of buckwheat pecan. Since, it was so special, they charged $2.50 more per loaf, and they sold five more than usual, so how much more did they make? Oh, I love her.

I almost forgot some animal news. Esme loves the cabin. She comes in here often, asks to go out still, but she comes in. She has figured out how to climb the walls to get upstairs, she is pretty comfy in here. I have tried to get Huck in here, he doesn’t care for it. He would rather stay outside or in the tent. It is all good. Well, eventually we will be taking the tent down. Oreo still spends most of his time in the girl’s sleeping bag. I told them girls to bring him in one day so he can get used to it before we take the tent down. Oh, he freaked. He was shaking, running all over the place, trying to find windows to get out of. It was warmer, Esme was in here. She kept going up to him, it seemed like she was saying, Hey it is okay, it is warmer and nicer in here!! Oreo didn’t really care though. We have been trying to get him in here every so often, he doesn’t really care though. I think that pretty much sums up this past week. Cold. Freezing. Lots of hot drinks. A slight overwhelming feeling of not getting enough done. Yep, that sums it up. I am kind of looking forward to the slowing down, even though I know it doesn’t really happen. I am going to allow myself to think that slow times are coming for now though. Who knows, maybe our cabin will be finished soon, the fence put in and we will have a small break before spring comes.

Leave a Reply

