but there is always light at the end of the tunnel

And maybe it is a cooler light.

Really, I am excited that after today our 10 day forecast does not hit 100 again. Of course if there is one thing you can’t depend on it is the weather. So I am not counting on nine cooler days, but it is nice to dream. We drove out to Kirksville yesterday, yes this is an event, and it was sad to see the surrounding countryside. It is so brown and dead. Oh we have some patches that are starting to look sad. We have some brown and some places that are definitely losing their green, but not like this. I am hopeful for some rain. We have it in the forecast, but again, not holding my breath.

Jack’s parents came to visit for a few short days. They have been looking for land here. There was a potential property so they came and checked it out. It was nice to see them again. Actually, it is really nice that we live close enough that they can come and check things out like that. The girls are totally loving seeing grandma and grandpa more often. It is great. I am hoping that they find something that they love soon. While they were out Jack and Phil put together a rafter. It looks HUGE! Of course it has been too hot to put together anymore rafters. Sigh. Building has been really hard to do in this weather. Another reason to be very happy over some cooler days. Hopefully we can get some more done. It is scary with August just a week away. August. How the hell does this happen? We have been back on the land for four months, it feels like longer in some ways and in others I am still wondering where June went.

The girls continue to amaze me. I guess I don’t talk about them much. They are so responsible and have so much common sense. They can be out doing chores see something that is not right and just fix it. They are not coming to me for every little thing anymore. They just do it. It may not seem like a huge thing, but maybe those with kids will see that this is huge. It really is. They are thinking and solving problems right that second. Maybe this would have happened anyway if they weren’t working on a farm, but I am seeing their development in this explode. This is not to say that sometimes they don’t do silly things. Jack told them, after about a week of him moving the bucket, that they didn’t have to haul water all the way across the field, they could move it closer to the water source. For some reason, maybe they thought the sheep didn’t want to go to a new place?, they kept moving the bucket farther away. Anyway, like I said, their ability to see a problem and a solution is growing. They are also looking so big to me. Last night we were all in the pond and thinking back a year ago to all three of my children JUST learning how to swim to now where they were all wrestling with Jack. They were getting thrown off tubes, dunked and swimming just fine. In deep water. We were in the middle of the pond. All of them swim well. How does this happen in a year? They are amazing me every day. Of course they are also annoying me every day. They are children and they aren’t always wonderful and amazing. I am just focusing on the amazing parts right now. 🙂

The animals are continuing to survive the heat. With a lot of work from us. Our two pregnant does are still pregnant. We are hoping that one day soon they kid. We have moved them to a separate enclosure. They have the puppies in with them also. It is interesting how they are though. They never felt that Huck was a threat. The goats watched him and never got defensive around him. The puppies took them a little while. They now are not at all worried about them anymore. We are watching a friend’s dog right now. They are totally pissed at this dog. Totally. Luckily the dog has sensed that they would beat the crap out of her even if there is an electric fence between them and gives them much room. Still, we are anxiously awaiting our first births on our farm. I think after today would be a good time seeing that it will be cooler… C’mon and send some birth vibes, goat birthing vibes our way.

The cattle waterer did get fixed. Oh I wish I could have gotten pictures of Layla. She, very bravely, went down into the cattle waterer to scoop out muck. It was very mucky by the way and also kind of stunk. She went down there though and bucketful by bucketful cleaned it out. She looked like a savage covered artfully in muck. It was something to see. Again, we have amazing kids.

One more note before I sign off this week. Soon, soon, I will be opening an etsy shop. I am actually coming out with this in hopes that people will start bugging me about it. I have it half set up, and have most of my beginning stock made up. I will be selling handspun yarn. I have gotten all my wool locally and in the future hope to get all my wool from our farm. You have to start somewhere though. All the profit from my sales will go to things that Jack doesn’t find completely necessary but I find needed for quality of life. He thinks it is alright to paint our house with misdyed paint for example. I think we need pretty colors. It will also go towards our animals, feed, housing and the like. I am looking forward to it. I love spinning. I love wool animals. So it is exciting to me to be doing something that I really enjoy and also will be helping to support my family. So if you don’t see me announcing my etsy store soon start poking at me. Please. I am really nervous about this and it has been hard for me to make those final steps.

I think that has been our week so far. Notice I have stopped writing about my weeks on Mondays. Monday suck, they always do. I have yet to have a good Monday. By Wednesday my Monday is mostly forgotten, yet it isn’t too far away from the weekend where I forget what we have gotten done. So you can pretty much expect an entry on Wednesday from now on. So send us birthing vibes and some rain vibes, we need the rain and cute little kids. They are much needed here 🙂

Leave a Reply

