4/14 Interesting times

Life is interesting. Cats are even more so. No matter how much Jack wants to say that Esme is not a kitten, she totally is. I refuse to believe that she has that little mental capability so my only other explanation is that she is young and has yet to learn. She has enjoyed being in the tent since the day we got here. She has gone out for walks with us. Probably the cutest was when she walked all the way down to the creek with us.It was warm that day and she was more prancing ahead of us enjoying the run. Her little pink tongue panting. It was cute. She was so excited. She looked like a little panther. So, she has enjoyed going outside. For the most part she stays pretty close and I hope she continues to do so. I liked it the first few weeks that she only went out when we went out. But this past week she has been going out in the morning. She isn’t gone long but she comes back almost soaking wet. By the way, we still have a litter box. We needed one while we were in Memphis and we found last year that after about a month the cats only use it when they don’t want to go outside. I am fine with this really. Esme has been following me out and watching me pee. Kali used to do this except she used to pee with me. There is nothing like going outside to pee and end up peeing with a cat. They do look at me funny though when I don’t cover it us. Must be a lack in my education. Anyway, I was very proud of Esme a few days ago when I saw her pee and poop outside. I praised her. Very happy that our cat litter buying might decrease a good bit. But as I sat here this morning, I hear cat litter being scratched around. And then it sounded like the entire contents of the box was being dumped. I look up and Esme is trying to jump out and she is shaking her paws and obviously upset over something. She just came back in and was wet from belly down. And THEN she went into the litter box. We now have litter covering our floor. She was covered in it. Litter doesn’t come off wet cat very well. The best part is that now she wants to cuddle. I love my cat, really I do. She also almost ended up in the pond yesterday. I was not there. I was curious if she would get in, she doesn’t seem as bothered by being wet as other cats I know. She did go down with Jack and the girls yesterday though. She was chasing a moth and almost went in. It is very muddy down there. Very muddy. Like I sink to my knees muddy. I can’t imagine her being happy about being that muddy, so I am glad she didn’t go in.

Since I am writing about animals, I might as well give a quick update. Oreo is doing alright. He doesn’t seem to be as upset about being here this time. I am not sure if he has spent any real time under a sleeping bag. Though I do not see him go outside very often. He stays mostly inside, sleeping. Obviously, two mice have been caught since we have been here, so someone is doing work. But for the most part Oreo is Oreo. Just a little less scared this time.

Huck. You know it is funny, I read the notes I kept last year and I am pretty much going to write the same thing. Huck sleeps, mostly outside, sometimes inside. Poor Huck. We did see him running with the goats yesterday. We moved their pen and they were out freely running. We aren’t sure if Huck was trying to herd them, it is possible since he only went running if they were not together. It was cute, really cute. I am still surprised that Huck is still going. When he is sleeping I find myself just watching to make sure his chest moves. Kali’s death was really hard on me because it was so sudden. Huck still seems to be mostly happy though. Just slowed down a lot. It almost seems like I have had two dogs. I still remember the Huck that I could never get any weight on because he was so active. The Huck that would run and run and play and jump. Now Huck is old man Huck, he has put on a lot of weight, added in some gray hair and slowed down to the point that a five second romp makes him lay down. I’m glad though that he still seems as happy, just tired. He has had a good life.

We still do not have internet. According to what the company told us we should have had it a week ago. I am upset, we use it a lot for schooling. I also feel lost without being able to check the weather. It sucks, a lot. Yesterday was very bad. I slept wrong or maybe it was the below freezing temperatures, or maybe it was both. I woke up in such pain I thought I just wanted to lay in bed all day. Unfortunately, it hurt to lay down also. I felt like the hunchback. Then our propane ran out. I couldn’t get it hooked up. It was one of those days where you feel helpless. Totally helpless. Jack ended up coming home early. He helped out a lot. I really wish he didn’t have to work, but I am not sure we can get around that right now.

We did go and look at goats yesterday. Yes, this is a crazy thing, but really us being crazy seems to work. Haven’t you noticed that? They aren’t the breeds we want, but then, oh well, right? We are looking so we can milk them and feed our goats currently. Maybe have a little bit of milk for ourselves also. Really, we might have to change our land use plan. Goats may be my favorite animal. They are so intelligent and cute and loveable. Yes, again, if you haven’t figured out I am crazy, you know so now. I just wish there were wool goats. I don’t think I want angora, I want more wool. So we did talk to the guy and should be picking up two goats today. I am not thrilled with them, but they are temporary goats. I am going to laugh my ass off if in two years I look back at this and find that we still have these goats and they are my favorites.

This is probably going to be kind of all over since this is a few days and I haven’t been able to post this. Live with it. I am trying to stick with actually writing about what is happening. Jack’s parents came to visit. They did find a place that they liked, they might be putting in an offer. It was really nice having them here. It is nice to be able to talk to people, not agree with everything but still be alright with it. All good. We had our tent warming party last Friday. It was a really nice party and it really did warm our tent. It was great. Though Jack did ask me to wait awhile before we have another party. I think he forgot that Layla is going to have a birthday in a little over a month.

Life is kind of slowing down. We are out of the house in Memphis. Yea!!! Homeschooling is starting to smooth out. I do love my children. I have to share this one. They were drawing pictures of food chains. Leave it to my kids to include humie. They started with the sun, rain, then plants, then a rabbit eating plants, then a human eating rabbits, then the human pooping then putting it back on the plants. Since they brought that up we talked about closing the nutrient gap and it was great. I didn’t mention it before, the lesson just mentioned everything ending with the meat eater, but I love my kids and how they thought of how it doesn’t end with the meat eater, at least not if the meat eater is either an animal that poops in the woods or a human who composts their waste. Really, if you aren’t you should look into it. I believe the Humanure Handbook is free online. Go read it, this post will still be here when you get back.

It amazes me that the wind isn’t bothering me as much this year, though of course we have had pretty mild winds so far. Of course, I write that and it picks up 🙂 We have had some cold days, some really cold nights. We are looking at like five days of rain coming at us too starting tonight. Not looking forward to that. Though I am sure the ground could use it. I am feeling much better about everything this year. I think a lot of it comes from not having all the tension that was here last year. It was a scary time for me and I felt pretty shut down. I feel so different this year, it feels much lighter, almost like when we were visiting. Though in some ways last year was easier because Jack was here. It is harder to get everything done when he is gone. Homeschooling and homesteading with one person for a decent portion of the day is harder. I am getting a routine down though and I think it will be okay in a little while. We did have an incident today though. Before we left Memphis we used our 55 gallon drums to haul water here, filling up our 275 gallon tank. Well, last night we got it filled to about 270 gallons. This morning Jack drove off and left the hose in the tank. It siphoned out, all but 50 gallons. So now we are not sitting on much water at all. very sad. We did talk to Bobbie though yesterday and she told us any time we wanted we could come get water, so we might be doing that a whole lot sooner than we thought. I feel like this is slightly my fault as Jack was going to take the car today and as he was leaving I asked him to take the truck and pick up some straw for the goats and chickens. So he wasn’t thinking of having the hose and water going. Still, it was a huge shock to go get water and find that we only had 50 gallons.

So we did get three goats. Though I am pretty sure we are going to swap one of them. I am not happy with how she is milking out. They are sweet though. We are getting a little bit of milk. We have only named one, she is pregnant and HUGE, not in the pregnant way, she is a stocky goat and tall. We have named her Ella Kate, look it up. She was a true giant who lived really close to where we are now. We figured it would be a cool name for her. I am looking forward to seeing her kids. Maybe just maybe she will be a keeper.

So I am going to post this and let it go, since I have internets. It has been interesting. And lots of fun. It is coming together, feeling much smoother. Weird to think that life is getting smoother as we add in all these animals.

Oh, and I did wake up to vomited mouse again. Not happy Esme!!!

Leave a Reply

